The Plassman Athletic Center pool is closed for repair until further notice. Clients may access the small therapy pool until it reopens.

Two Local Power Soccer Teams Close Seasons Ranked in Top Half of Teams Nationally

July 18th, 2018

Two Local Power Soccer Teams Close Seasons Ranked in Top Half of Teams Nationally

FORT WAYNE, IN – Fort Wayne’s two competitive power soccer teams concluded their season during the recent national MK Battery Cup Conference Championship tournament held at Turnstone. The Turnstone Flyers ended with a national finish of second place after an impressive 6-1 showing during the tournament, losing in the championship game to RHI Sudden Impact from Indianapolis. The Turnstone Furious Flyers ranked 27th nationally closing out their first competitive season.

“Although falling short of a championship victory with a 3-2 loss, the Flyers had a very successful season. This was a new roster with the addition of two athletes that were not on the team last year,” said Jim Labas, Turnstone Flyers coach. “Their determination helped them survive a 2-0 deficit late in the second half of the semifinal game to win 3-2 in overtime. After coming so close in the championship game, their focus will now shift to next year and “Getting the next goal” to bring home a national title!”

The Turnstone Flyers fought hard to earn their championship game berth, a feat that had eluded them in the previous season when they finished their season ranked third nationally. Their semi-final match against Central New York, whose team boasts two Team USA members, was won in overtime after coming from behind to tie the game at 2-2 and claiming victory off a rebound.

David Dowling of the Turnstone Flyers earned MVP for leading the Flyers with 13 Goals and five assists throughout the tournament. Along with being the top goal scorer for Turnstone, Dowling is highly regarded as one of the top defenders in the nation.

Julie Meyers of the Turnstone Furious Flyers earned the honor of being named to the All-Tournament Team for leading the Furious Flyers with 19 goals and four assists in 24 games this season. 

“The Turnstone Furious Flyers started the season with three first-year players and I watched them grow into a team,” said Chad Minier, Turnstone Furious Flyers coach. “The team came together in such a way that the players cared more about everyone getting a chance to play than winning. They understood that this year was about growth and everyone getting a chance. We built a group of caring friends and teammates. That is what power soccer is all about!”

35 power soccer teams and over 250 power chair athletes converged on Fort Wayne, IN to compete for the four division titles at stake during the four-day tournament hosted by the United States Power Soccer Association (USPSA).

The USPSA is the governing body for power soccer in the United States. Power soccer is the first competitive team sport designed and developed specifically for power wheelchair users. The game is played in a gymnasium on a regulation basketball court. Two teams of four players attack, defend, and spin-kick a 13-inch soccer ball in a skilled and challenging game similar to able-bodied soccer. More info at:



ABOUT TURNSTONE:  Now in its 75th year of service, Turnstone’s mission is to empower people with disabilities to achieve their highest potential by providing one of the most comprehensive offerings of services and programs to people with disabilities and their families under one roof in the United States. Thanks to generous support and compassionate staff, Turnstone’s legacy of advocacy and innovation continues to contribute to a world that accepts and values people based on their abilities.

CUT LINE: Two local power soccer teams represented Fort Wayne at this year’s MK Battery Cup Conference Championship tournament to close out their successful seasons

TURNSTONE FLYERS 2018: (Front Row L-R) Chance Now, Danil Vondran, Tiffany Labas, David Dowling, Luke Labas. (Back Row L-R) Jim Labas, Mark Berron, Sam Labas

TURNSTONE FURIOUS FLYERS 2018: (Front Row L-R) Parker Minier, Derek Sellers, Greg Busé, Owen Donahue, Julie Meyers (Back Row) Chad Minier 

News Releases Special Announcements